November 21, 2018, 07:54:40 pm
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
144522 Posts in 17439 Topics- by 30130 Members - Latest Member: arcticknight92
Pages: [1] 2
  Print  
Author Topic: Game freezing on logout.  (Read 686 times)
Newbie
*
Posts: 41
View Profile Email
« on: September 13, 2018, 05:09:58 am »

Heya all got a problem.

When ever i try to logout and change characters, my game will freeze up for a good 10-30 secs.

during this time i can hear my HDD whirling and processing like it's been written/read from.

I've had this problem before but it seemed to fix it self and go away, but now it's back.

Anyone experience similar issues or have any idea whats going on?

Thanks
Logged
Newbie
*
Posts: 43
View Profile Email
« Reply #1 on: September 13, 2018, 11:04:43 am »

Could be anything really, however u kinda point it out yourself ^^

Check your HDD(s) with CDI or the likes and report back, maybe Gsmartcontrol if advanced user/wanna learn more about SMART yourself ^^

https://crystalmark.info/en/software/crystaldiskinfo/

https://gsmartcontrol.sourceforge.io/home/
Logged
Newbie
*
Posts: 41
View Profile Email
« Reply #2 on: September 13, 2018, 11:33:17 am »

Yeah I already use Crystaldiskinfo and it says my HDD's health is 'Good'

And I don't get the problem on any other game / program, just WoW.
Logged
Head Gamemaster
Full Member
*****
Posts: 491
View Profile
« Reply #3 on: September 13, 2018, 03:10:08 pm »

Which graphic card are you using?
Logged

Newbie
*
Posts: 43
View Profile Email
« Reply #4 on: September 13, 2018, 06:10:40 pm »

Try getting a defrag program and scan (perfect disk was my favorite back then, trail versions should be out there)

Anyways point of checking with a decent defragmenter program like Perfect Disk, is to check if some wow files are massively fragmented. (1 file with say 10k fragments, takes a few secs to read for the HDD ^^ )

If i remeber correctly, the build-in one in Win7/10 needs like 20% free space on a drive to be able to run at all.
Logged
Gamemaster
Newbie
*****
Posts: 43
Hunter, guardian, destroyer, menace
View Profile
« Reply #5 on: September 13, 2018, 11:39:19 pm »

Do you use DPSMate? It's writing its save file on logout.
Logged

How to submit tickets.

I have a toothache, can you come look at it for me? It's the one in the back!
Newbie
*
Posts: 41
View Profile Email
« Reply #6 on: September 14, 2018, 01:51:16 am »

Using a Radeon RX480 video card, latest drivers.

I'm not using DPSmate, but i suspect that it's some other addon doing the same thing, but not sure which one.

I've also just noticed it does the same thing when i use /ReloadUI command it will hang as well ... so possibly a rogue addon?
« Last Edit: September 14, 2018, 02:03:41 am by Kurismane » Logged
Newbie
*
Posts: 43
View Profile Email
« Reply #7 on: September 14, 2018, 08:50:24 am »

Thats easy to check, move the content of your addon folder into another folder and restart the game Smiley

Then they cant load, also making /reload or /reloadUI non-functioning (as no addons are loaded)

That said, reloading addons and UI (with said commands) do take a few secs to complete, even with the client on an decent SSD Smiley
Logged
Gamemaster
Newbie
*****
Posts: 43
Hunter, guardian, destroyer, menace
View Profile
« Reply #8 on: September 14, 2018, 10:02:34 am »

If you made sure what Cocio21 said,
you can boil it down by using the addon "Warmup".

It will measure the memory usage and the load time of each addon.
Then look for some bully addons :-)
Logged

How to submit tickets.

I have a toothache, can you come look at it for me? It's the one in the back!
Newbie
*
Posts: 41
View Profile Email
« Reply #9 on: September 14, 2018, 12:24:30 pm »



Whats this thing supposed to tell me exactly? is there any commands or other options?

Everything loads up the first time fine it's exiting or reloading the UI that's the problem, the addon doesn't really tell me anything.

Also the strange thing about it, like i mentioned it happened before and went away on it's own and in that time I haven't installed any different addons.


Logged
Gamemaster
Newbie
*****
Posts: 43
Hunter, guardian, destroyer, menace
View Profile
« Reply #10 on: September 14, 2018, 01:45:55 pm »

This is my Warmup.
Posting it because your Warmup looks a bit empty.





You can see that there are addons which take a lot of time to load up (1st column):
-BigWigsVG
-DPSMate
-IMBA
-Luna

and addons that take a lot of memory:
-Atlas
-AtlasLoot
-Lootlink
-BigWigsVG
-IMBA
-KTM
-LootTracker
-Luna
-WIM

The memory intensive addons are first suspects to cause a "freeze" on logout because they might write their data back to WTF files.
Logged

How to submit tickets.

I have a toothache, can you come look at it for me? It's the one in the back!
Head Gamemaster
Full Member
*****
Posts: 491
View Profile
« Reply #11 on: October 05, 2018, 08:25:51 pm »

Did you manage through your issue? If yes, then perhaps other players would like to know how (if anyone experience the same problem in the future)
Logged

Newbie
*
Posts: 41
View Profile Email
« Reply #12 on: October 06, 2018, 06:24:43 am »

nope still happening, is there anyway to get this Warmup addon to load first? I think that's why it's not reporting correctly

I found this guide - http://wowwiki.wikia.com/wiki/Warmup_(AddOn) but it makes no sense if i have the folder as !!warmup then wow doesn't recognise it as an addon

I still need to go though my addons one by one to see which one is doing it, but that's a long and arduous task, i thought i found 1 addon and disabled it, it only made the freeze slightly shorter.

so i'm just putting up with it for now.

« Last Edit: October 06, 2018, 06:54:55 am by Kurismane » Logged
Newbie
*
Posts: 41
View Profile Email
« Reply #13 on: October 17, 2018, 05:47:29 am »

Ok I might as well post that all my problems have once again disappeared, simply by unplugging my 2nd monitor...

I have NFI how this works but I plug it in and problem is there, unplug it and problem goes away.


Logged
Newbie
*
Posts: 43
View Profile Email
« Reply #14 on: October 17, 2018, 10:18:38 am »

a 2nd monitor will pull more on your Gfx, even if not used for games.

Thats cos it obsv have to refresh the image regardless of the activity on the monitor.

Given its a change in Gpu load, it can be the Gfx thats going bad, your powersupply or even the motherboard depending on powerdraw on the Gpu.

One could argue its cos the Gpu isnt adequate for the job, but u would have noticed this right away when changing to that Gfx/putting that 2nd monitor in.

I would try using a another monitor as 2nd monitor, simply for testing.

Then i would try reinstalling drivers, maybe put profile for Wow into "full performance" mode to stabilize core clock for Wow.
Logged
Pages: [1] 2
  Print  
 
Jump to: