April 19, 2019, 11:16:14 pm
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
145646 Posts in 17613 Topics- by 30981 Members - Latest Member: Sadly123
Pages: [1]
  Print  
Author Topic: Noob tanking questions  (Read 9557 times)
View Profile
« on: January 15, 2015, 12:35:51 pm »

Ok, so, I'm a noob, and I like tanking very much. But I always ran into problems, so I have a few questions regarding tanking gear.

Baron Rivendare and some UBRS dragon fights seemed incredibly hard to me sometimes. My question is, is it a good idea to use lowerish level 'Thorium Armors' there? (Because obviously I don't have access to Tier1 fire resistance gear or BWL resistance gear), so my only accessible option would be:

(Thorium Helm, Thorium Belt, Thorium Bracers, Thorium Boots)

I could stack these with 'Medalion of Grand Marshal Moris', 'Stockade Pauldrons', 'Skullflame Shield'. And eventually with the shadow resistant engineering trinket, the Ultra-flash Shadow Reflector (though it seems a huge effort to get it).

The important part of my question is, that this way, I would have 350-360 defense (with the 10 defense from the talent points), instead of the "normal" tanking (I'm a warrior, sorry, I forgot to say that) pre-raid gear, which would give about 390. BUT I would have 58 shadow resistance.
So, let's say that, I'm a noob, I don't care about raids, I just want to have fun at Stratholme and Scholo, would this setup be better? And would this work for UBRS, too? (58 fire resistance, 38 arcane resistance)

Another question: night elf or dwarf warrior for tanking? (not that familiar with horde, I only heard about Taurens from there). Where is the dwarf poison resistance good, at Zul Gurub? How important is that there?